Bundesliga table

Bundesliga table 2016/2017

History of the Bundesliga

The Bundesliga, is a professional association football league in Germany and the football league with the highest average stadium attendance worldwide. At the top of the German football league system, the Bundesliga is Germany’s primary football competition. The Bundesliga is contested by 18 teams and operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the 2. Bundesliga. Seasons run from August to May. The winner of the Bundesliga table qualifies for the DFL Supercup

A total of 54 clubs have competed in the Bundesliga table since its founding. FC Bayern Munich has won the Bundesliga the most, winning the title 25 times. However, the Bundesliga has seen other champions with Borussia Dortmund, Hamburger SV, Werder Bremen, Borussia Mönchengladbach and VfB Stuttgart most prominent among them. The Bundesliga table is one of the top national leagues, currently ranked second in Europe according to UEFA’s league coefficient ranking, based on performances in European competitions over the past five seasons. The Bundesliga is the number one football league in the world in terms of average attendance; out of all sports, its average of 45,134 fans per game during the 2011–12 season was the second highest of any sports league in the world.

The Bundesliga table was founded in 1962 in Dortmund and the first season started in 1963. The structure and organisation of the Bundesliga table along with Germany’s other football leagues have undergone frequent changes right up to the present day.

Bundesliga facts


Bundesliga table
Country Germany
Confederation UEFA
Founded 1963; 53 years ago
Number of teams 18
Relegation to 2. Bundesliga
Domestic cup(s)
  • DFB-Pokal
  • DFL-Supercup
International cup(s)
  • UEFA Champions League
  • UEFA Europa League
Current champions Bayern Munich (25th title)
Most championships Bayern Munich (25 titles)