Dortmund team

Complete list of the current Dortmund team

Dortmund Team






Dortmund team history

Dortmund, is a German sports club based in Dortmund. The football team is part of a large membership-based sports club with more than 115,000 members, making Dortmund the third largest sports club by membership in Germany. This Dortmund team plays in the Bundesliga, the top tier of the German football league system. Dortmund is one of the most successful clubs in German football history.

Borussia Dortmund was founded in 1909 by eighteen football players from Dortmund. Borussia Dortmund have won eight German championships, three DFB-Pokals, five DFL-Supercups, one UEFA Champions League, one UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup, and one Intercontinental Cup. Their Cup Winners’ Cup win in 1966 made them the first German club to win a European title.

Since 1974, the Dortmund team have played their home games at Westfalenstadion. The stadium is the largest in Germany and Dortmund has the highest average attendance in the world. Dortmund team colours are black and yellow. The Dortmund team holds a long-standing rivalry with Ruhr neighbours Schalke 04, known as the Revierderby.

This Dortmund team plays at Signal Iduna Park, Germany’s largest stadium and the seventh-largest in Europe. In UEFA club matches, it is known as BVB Stadion Dortmund. The stadium now hosts up to 81,359 spectators for league matches and 65,829 seated spectators for international games.